How do I unfreeze my OneDrive account?

If your OneDrive is frozen because you stopped using it, sign in to the OneDrive website and follow the on-screen instructions to unfreeze it. 

If your OneDrive is frozen because you’re over your storage limit, you have two options:

  1. Get more storage

Increasing your storage quota will unfreeze your account. This can be achieved by taking a manufacturer bonus, referral bonus, or buying a subscription.

Sign in to Manage your storage and see what plans and offers are available to you. 

Need more than 1 TB? With an Office 365 Home subscription, you get 6 TB: 1 TB for each of the 6 users. You can share your total storage around and have use of more than 1 TB by sharing folders between users and adding the shared folders to your own OneDrive.

You can also unfreeze your account through the OneDrive mobile app, or purchase additional storage if needed. 

  • To unfreeze your account, tap Unfreeze your account. (Note that you will have 30 days to remove enough files to be under the storage limit before your account will be refrozen.) Tap Unfreeze to acknowledge the reminder.

  • To purchase additional storage, tap Get 1000 GB of OneDrive storage with Office 365.

Note: After requesting an account unfreeze or purchasing additional storage, it can take up to 24 hours to unfreeze your account.

  2. Delete some files

Sign in to the OneDrive website and choose Unfreeze your account to temporarily access your files. You'll have 30 days to remove enough files to be within your storage limit.

  • View the largest files on your OneDrive. Your files will be read-only, but you can download or delete files to get back under your storage limit. If you don't remove enough files within 30 days, your account will be frozen once more and you won't be able to unfreeze it again.

  • Free up OneDrive storage by choosing which OneDrive folders to sync with your computer.

Note: After requesting an account unfreeze or purchasing additional storage, it can take up to 24 hours to unfreeze your account.